Petroleum Technology | Aditya Engineering college

Department of Petroleum Technology


The four years degree course in Petroleum Technology by the institute is permanently affiliated to Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University, Kakinada and is accredited by AICTE. Over 400 hundred graduate and postgraduate students have been graduated from this department since 2014 and are working at different positions in Petroleum Industry in India and abroad with great distinction.

B.Tech (Petroleum Technology) is a four-year course of eight terms permanently affiliated to JNTU Kakinada and is accredited by the National Board of Accreditation, New Delhi. The program covers courses related to components in Petroleum Industry including Petroleum Geology, Petroleum Exploration, Well logging and Formation Evaluation,Reservoir Engineering, Petroleum Production Engineering, Well Engineering, Drilling Technology, enhanced oil recovery, Coal Bed Methane Engineering, Health safety and Environment and Petroleum Refining and Petrochemical Engineering. Elective subjects like unconventional hydrocarbon resources, Natural Gas Hydrates, Reservoir Simulation, Liquefied Natural Gas, Pipeline Engineering, petroleum economics and transportation of oil and gas are introduced in the curriculum of final year of petroleum Technology

The students are encouraged to participate in different co-curricular activities organized at national and international level. They are also exposed to internship/ summer training at the end of sixth term for duration of Four weeks. An industrial exposure gives them understanding of working environment and challenges in Petroleum Industry.

In addition, The department also offers a post-graduate course of Masters in Technology , Petroleum Engineering (M.Tech) affiliated to Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University, Kakinada. This Program is aimed at developing expertise in petroleum engineering with an aptitude towards research and development work. Professionals in the industry find it useful to improve upon their academic qualifications for better prospects. It also helps graduates of other disciplines to convert themselves as petroleum engineers. The course work and dissertation work is highly demanding. Therefore candidates are advised to get acquainted with the curriculum and nature of study expected before opting for this course.

• There is no age limit for admission.
• Graduates of Petroleum / Petrochemical / Chemical / Mechanical / Production / Polymer Engineering are eligible for admission.
• Students who have qualified GATE/PGCET Examination are given preference.
• Eighteen seats are sanctioned for this course; out of which 3 seats are reserved for SC/ST category and 5 seats are reserved for students sponsored by various Institutes / Industrial Organizations.

The first and second semester of M.Tech (Petroleum Engineering) comprises advanced courses in Petroleum Geology &Reservoir Engineering, Drilling Engineering, Production Engineering, Advanced Mathematical and Statistical Methods applicable to Petroleum Engineering, Transportation of Oil and Gas in Petroleum Engineering, Artificial Lift Methods, Operational Aspects of Well Testing, Advanced Natural Gas Engineering, Process Safety and Environment Aspects, Reservoir Simulation with Computer Applications and two elective subjects related to Petroleum Engineering. The third and fourth semester of M.Tech. (Petroleum Engineering) is devoted to seminars and dissertation. The students are required to deliver total three seminars (one seminar every semester for every student) starting from the second semester. Every student has to undergo training in the petroleum industry.